Corn Puddin…

(2 Timothy 2:24-26; Titus 3:2; 1 Peter 3:25; Proverbs 15:1)…

Went to a wedding once. People were there from all around the world. At the reception, they served what basically amounts to ‘soul food’. Greens, ham, really good potato salad, fried chicken, roast beef, corn pudding, etc. Food was delicious.

Anyway, a group of people ahead of me in the buffet line, were not from the United States. Never had soul food. They got to the corn pudding, and stopped. I listened quietly, while they tried to figure out what it was. Honestly, I was agitated at first. But my curiosity trumped my irritation.

One said ‘What is it?’ while another said ‘I don’t know. It may be some sort of casserole’. Finally, the more knowledgeable fella in the group says ‘it is corn pudding’ (enunciated the ‘g’ at the end of pudding). I chucked, wanting to correct them- and let them know it’s pronounced ‘corn pudn’ but I refrained. The guy adds, ‘it is a sort of soufflé’…

A souffle. Lol. They had no idea what it was. But they all tried it, and moved on. Later, a few of them came back for seconds.

It was in that moment, that I realized- people only know what they know. Their life experiences, while likely far more vast than mine (having traveled the world and all), had never brought them across- corn pudn’. It occurred to me, that we get so frustrated with people, for only knowing what they know. How limited was my scope, for whatever irritation I felt. We’re all just humans, living, learning, experiencing, growing. Limited in our exposure to the world, enhanced by each moment we encounter something new.

That principle stuck with me. When I go places, and experience things, form my opinions, languish in my fears of things that are unfamiliar, etc., are there people in line behind me in life, irritated? How often have I casted judgment on someone, simply for not having sat at the same tables I grew up sitting at?

Maybe, we all need to lighten up- and let people live. Take the emotion out of it, and just acknowledge the fact that most people aren’t stupid. They know what they know, based on where they’ve been. They don’t know what they don’t know, based on where they haven’t been. And then leave it at that.

What I should have done, was explain to them- hey, it’s a fantastic dish, popularized in the southern United States, consisting of creamed corn, milk or cream, eggs, sugar, and whatever else grandma’s got laying around. Introduce them to it. Give them a little history on it. Tell them how I was raised on it, how it got my family through, because the ingredients didn’t cost much. And, in love, expose them to this thing that was soooo good. They try it, and possibly go forward, loving it, and never forgetting their first time experiencing it- because of how kindly and passionately it was presented.

I have a feeling lots of things are like that. Maybe Christianity is like that. Maybe our political differences, are like that. Maybe people only know what they know. And instead of our first response being frustration, it could be compassion. Patience. Initiate a warm dialog. Explain what they may not know, and share your personal encounters with it. Most people aren’t stupid. In this culture, I think maybe people react to tone and presentation, without ever getting the chance to react to the actual information presented.

If we all take a breather, reset, and acknowledge all of this, it’s possible that our conversations could be more productive. I’m as guilty as everyone else, when it comes to being awestruck by what people seem to be ignorant of. But again, the reminder today- is that people are only a product of their experiences. Most folk aren’t dumb. They just haven’t been exposed to what you have. And vice versa.

Make it your business to engage your ‘adversaries’ this week, with patience, and an awareness of the bigger picture. Remember, you want them to enjoy the corn pudn. The goal is not to humiliate them for having never tasted it.

2 thoughts on “Corn Puddin…

  1. Good post Evan

    -Ryan Freidline-
    -A-Team Roof & Exterior Cleaning-
    -888-867-7615-
    -www.nomoreyuk.com-

    ________________________________

Leave a comment